Reviews

Magical Ride – CD Reviews

2016-02-20 – Written by Nev Brooks

Jetbone hail from Sundsvall, Sweden, were founded in December 2011, and wear their influences very firmly on their sleeves, this is seventies funky rock at its very best.

The record kicks in with an almost Peckham Cowboys vibe, albeit one grounded in Aerosmith, or maybe take it back further to The Stones back when they were funky and with a brass section to match…I love it! The track? “C’mon’. Next up is ‘Mixed Emotions’ and this could have come straight off ‘The Southern Harmony and Musical Companion’ outtakes, and as such its great stuff too.

This is very definitely rock of the classic kind and there’s an almost Lynyrd Skynyrd vibe to it as next up is ‘No Way Out’. ‘Working Hard For Your Money’ explores the Aerosmith ‘Same Old Song And Dance’ style arrangement and this is followed by the obligatory rock ballad that is ‘Woman’.

The piano driven ‘Everyone Needs Somebody To Love’ reminds me of so many classics, which is a shame in a way because it’s a strong track on its own. And I think that this is my conundrum with this album, it is an absolute cracker, but every time I play it, I’m pulling it apart, and I keep finding myself saying “where did that come from?” or worse “I recognise this!”

You know sometimes you can wear your influences too close to the surface and rightly so, if that’s what you feel the need to do, but personally I’m all for music changing with the times. These guys are superb musicians, have a cracking singer in Gurten Sjödin , but I just wish that they did things their way. There’s a cracking groove to ‘Magical Ride’, it will sit well in any rock fan’s collection, but for me I think I’m already bored, it’s been done before, but this is purely down to my own warped taste in music.

Source here!

Magical Ride – CD Reviews

2016-02-20 – Written by Nev Brooks

Jetbone hail from Sundsvall, Sweden, were founded in December 2011, and wear their influences very firmly on their sleeves, this is seventies funky rock at its very best.

The record kicks in with an almost Peckham Cowboys vibe, albeit one grounded in Aerosmith, or maybe take it back further to The Stones back when they were funky and with a brass section to match…I love it! The track? “C’mon’. Next up is ‘Mixed Emotions’ and this could have come straight off ‘The Southern Harmony and Musical Companion’ outtakes, and as such its great stuff too.

This is very definitely rock of the classic kind and there’s an almost Lynyrd Skynyrd vibe to it as next up is ‘No Way Out’. ‘Working Hard For Your Money’ explores the Aerosmith ‘Same Old Song And Dance’ style arrangement and this is followed by the obligatory rock ballad that is ‘Woman’.

The piano driven ‘Everyone Needs Somebody To Love’ reminds me of so many classics, which is a shame in a way because it’s a strong track on its own. And I think that this is my conundrum with this album, it is an absolute cracker, but every time I play it, I’m pulling it apart, and I keep finding myself saying “where did that come from?” or worse “I recognise this!”

You know sometimes you can wear your influences too close to the surface and rightly so, if that’s what you feel the need to do, but personally I’m all for music changing with the times. These guys are superb musicians, have a cracking singer in Gurten Sjödin , but I just wish that they did things their way. There’s a cracking groove to ‘Magical Ride’, it will sit well in any rock fan’s collection, but for me I think I’m already bored, it’s been done before, but this is purely down to my own warped taste in music.

Source here!

Album review: Jetbone – Magical Ride

2016-01-04 – Written by Pete Feenstra (Get Ready To Rock)

The dynamically named Jetbone is a Swedish band that sounds as if they’ve been listening to their parent’s record collection. They’ve stepped into the studio with strong enough material to record an album full of real swagger and exuberant musical twists and turns. By the time of the evocative ballad ‘Rosalee’ at the three quarter mark, their swashbuckling style and exuberant musical journey will have you fist pumping the air in delight.

The band features two song writing vocalists; bass player Gustav Sjodin and guitarist Alin Riabouchkin, whose contrasting phrasing brings light and shade to the band’s collective intensity. They sparkle on expansive arrangements, catchy hooks, booming vocals and scintillating playing that contributes to, rather than dominates the songs. Jetbone tear into each song with a real ferocity to suggest this is a one shot deal. The album derives its coherence from a rich production overseen by Mikael Lyander. Both the band and Lyander place a high emphasis on a layered wall of sound and salient vocals, as evidenced by the funky groove of ‘Working Hard For Your Money’. At times they explore a good old fashioned rock and roll vibe, boosted by pumping horns, but Jetbone is a broad musical church that brings together hard rock, blues, funk and soul with total commitment.

The band combines sharp dynamics with a series of essential grooves that lie at the heart of their music. And while they wear their influences on their sleeve – check out the country tinged Stonesy intro on ‘Mixed Emotions and The Faces meets Little Feat staccato funk of ‘No Way Out’- they are as adventurous as they are confident, finishing the former as with an unlikely tempo change and gospel outro. The same gospel style bv’s are later revisited on the burgeoning ‘Fifth Time Loser’, which is a typical example of their exuberant style. They slip into an apparently languid ballad ‘Woman’ to initially evoke Traffic, until a choral wall of sound gives the piece unexpected grandeur.

The key to the band’s musical depth lies in their ability to shift musical directions both within and between songs. They also let their music to breathe, from the chopped chorus, ripping slide and descending organ line of the massive ‘Working Hard For your Money’ to the jangling guitars of ‘Dust In My Eye’, while the combination of a power chords, chanted hook and big horns of ‘Everybody Needs Somebody To Love’ pushes them towards stadium rock.

In complete contrast, the contemplative ‘You Are My Love’ almost sounds as if it’s from another session, before they round things off with the mid-paced funky title track, on which they deliver the defining line: “Can you feel the groove, keep on digging that rhythm and blues.” ‘Magical Ride’ lives up to its name both as a title track and the album as a whole. Jetbone effortlessly fulfil their imaginative potential with a surging musical sweep, unfettered energy and intuitive playing. The closing children’s choir and merry-go-round outro reinforces the notion that ‘Magical Ride’ is unique body of work.

Jetbone raid the past to reshape the future and on the evidence of this album rock and roll is in safe hands and the future is Swedish!

Source here!

Jetbone – Magical Ride (Swedish)

2015-11-17 – Written by Proppen (Rocknytt)

I egenskap av invånare i Sundsvall och då dessutom en löjligt musikintresserad sådan är ynglingarna i Jetbone en grupp individer jag har kunnat följa på nära håll under ett gäng år nu. För ett par år sedan var bandet om du frågar mig ett av de minst intressanta på den lokala rockscenen. På ett sätt som i princip helt saknade eget uttryck framförde bandet generisk actionrock som trots att den inte var dålig på något sätt ändå inte gjorde någon glad. En självbetitlad debutskiva släpptes år 2012 och även om bandet efter rönt vissa framgångar har de ändå aldrig varit några favoriter hos mig. I våras fick jag dock höra från en vän som också är djupt insyltad i den västernorrländska rockscenen att Jetbone tydligen numer gjort ändringar bland bandmedlemmarna, bytt stil och faktiskt blivit riktigt bra. Detta gjorde mig självklart nyfiken och efter att tidigare ha förkastat bandet gav jag dem nu en ny chans och när en av bandmedlemmarna spelade upp några demos från den då kommande skivan kunde jag knappt tro att det var samma band som jag tidigare hade hört som nu strömmade ut ur mina högtalare. Denna smyglyssning gav helt klart mersmak och drygt ett halvår senare kom då alltså den slutgiltiga produkten, vid namn “Magical Ride”.

Skivan inleds med den makalöst svängiga rockrökaren “C’mon” och den touch av soul som blåssektionen skänker låten ger en omisskännlig känsla av 60- och 70-tal, en känsla som för övrigt stannar med lyssnaren genom hela albumet. Efter den energiska inledningen sänks tempot för en aning med stämningsfulla “Mixed Emotions”, en helt fantastisk låt som trots sin lugna framtoning är väldigt pampig och bygger upp till ett snudd på “Blues Brothers”-doftande crescendo i outrot. Som tredje spår bjuds vi på “No Way Out” och nu är vi tillbaka i lite mer rockiga tongångar. Denna skapelse luktar sydstatsrock, Lynyrd Skynyrd och “Sweet Home Alabama” och Jetbone visar att de har en hel del olika influenser, men att den röda tråden är att samtliga hade sin storhetsperiod för ungefär 40 år sedan. Eller ja, kanske inte exakt alla influenser. Ett i sammanhanget nyare band som jag tycker att det nya Jetbone för tankarna till är amerikanska The Black Crowes och du som gillar dessa herrar samt klassiska akter som Deep Purple och andra storheter, samt med en stor dos soul, kommer garanterat också att uppskatta Jetbone.

Vidare på skivan finns upptempolåtar som “Working Hard For Your Money”, “Everybody Needs Somebody To Love” och singeln “Fifth Time Loser” som blandas friskt med mer stillsamma stycken som “Woman”, “Rosalie” och “You Are My Love”. Således bjuds vi på stor variation och skivan känns konstant intressant, även om jag kanske kan tycka att tolv låtar är i mesta laget och att plattan som helhet kanske hade mått lite bättre av att ha tio låtar istället. Det är ju dock detaljer i sammanhanget och på det stora hela har Jetbone med “Magical RIde” lyckats knåpa ihop en riktigt bra skiva. Även om de kanske inte återuppfinner hjulet och inte heller lär revolutionera den svenska rockscenen så är det inte heller det som är bandets ambition. Det här handlar snarare om att på ett respektfullt, varsamt men ändå kraftfullt sätt förvalta ett arv från forna storheter och detta gör Jetbone med bravur. Jag är övertygad om att bandet gjort succé om de kommit för 45 år sedan och förhoppningsvis räcker musikalisk kvalitet, sväng och grymma låtar långt även 2015.

En av årets största positiva överraskningar!

Bästa låt: Mixed Emotions

Betyg: 8/10

Source here!

Jetbone lyfter med sväng (Swedish)

2015-10-28 – Written by Peter Carlsson (Allehanda/Mittmedia)

2012 kom den självbetitlade debutplattan. Nu är den lovande Sundsvallskvintetten Jetbone några år äldre och har bytt sin Hellacopters-inspirerade garagerock mot 70-talsförankrad bluesrock från amerikanska södern, med klara influenser av Primal Scream och Black Crowes.

Med det sagt så uppfinner inte Jetbone något nytt med “Magical ride”, utan mer bär facklan vidare. Oavsett vilket är genrebytet av godo. Det svänger exempelvis rejält i inledande “C’mon”, förstasingeln “Fifth time loser” och skönt Blues Brothers-doftande “Mixed emotions” – mycket tack vare Christer Falk och Per Svelander som med stor bravur hjälpt med blåsinstrument. Blåset har onekligen en nyckelroll, både för svänget och skivan i helhet. Bäst blir det dock i “Woman” och “Rosalie” – två raka och riktigt sköna rockdängor.

Sånginsatserna av Gustav Gurten Sjödin och Alin Riabouchkin är inte toppklass på alla låtar, likväl som produktionen, men det håller ändå.

Source here!

Jetbone – ‘Jetbone’

2013-02-23 – Written by Allan Holloway (FIREWORKS The Melodic Rock Magazine)

A real triumph of simplicity and good tunes.

Firstly, I guess we owe an apology to Swedish newcomers Jetbone, as this album has been out several months yet we have only just fished it out from behind the fridge for a review. If it was rubbish we wouldn’t apologise (we’re like that, you know – cruel and unusual), but Jetbone have defied the odds and earned themselves a place on the best-of-the-month list, overdue but certainly well deserved.

What Jetbone do is play rock and roll, and to be honest that just about sums them up as well as anything. When you listen to this the closest comparison that springs to mind is the Rolling Stones, back when they were full of fire rather than Horlicks. There’s a healthy element of sleaze thrown in, and on the whole the album is a real triumph of simplicity and good tunes. The riffs are laid back, the pace always just right, and the vocals from Johan Myhrgren are thrown out like he really doesn’t give a shit if you like them or not, as long as he’s having a good time. Top this off with some nifty guitarwork throughout and choruses Jagger and co would kill for today and you have a solid piece of work that is guaranteed to liven up any party.

Source here!

Introducing Jetbone

2012-12-18 – Written by SlipTrickRecords

“I can imagine myself dancing in some small dark concert hall that smells of sweat, cigarettes, beer and in the background the music of Jetbone. If an album can inspire you those feelings, it means this is really rock & roll. And I like it! One of the surprises of 2012!” – FREE! Magazine

No better introduction for Swedish best kept rock’n’roll secret! Jetbone is a pure undiluted explosive rocking and rolling blend, they got a self titled album out , soon to be distributed by Sliptrick Records while they’re currently working on their sophomore album.

Source here!

Jetbone – ‘Jetbone’ Album Review

2012-11-19 – Written by Ant May (Planet Mosh)

Jetbone formed in 2008 and take their sound from bands such as KISS, The faces, the Rolling Stones as well as jackson Browne and 90s Scandinavian Garage/Punk.

Brief comments on a few of the tracks. The album kicks off with “Dancin’ on your grave” and I have to say, it’s a great start to the album – great guitar-heavy rock. It’s catchy and really is a very strong track. “Dead city fire” really does have a Rolling Stones influence – that guitar riff is just classic Rolling Stones. Throw in a bit of sleaze and you’ve got Jetbone. “Perfect mess” is another particularly great track – but then again there isn’t a single weak track on the album.

I really wasnt sure what to expect when I picked up this CD. I’d never heard anything about Jetbone so had no preconceptions, so when that opening track blasted out I was extremely happy. This is an amazingly good album – it’s one of those albums that really reminds you why you started listening to rock music in the first place.

Jetbone is out now and is highly recommended – go out and buy it, you won’t be disappointed.

Rating: 9.5/10

Source here!

Album review – Jetbone

2012-07-24 – Written by Antonio Diaz in Albums, Music

From Punksvall, Sweden, come these 6 guys who have played together apart from being close friends since 2008. And being honest, they have turned to be one of the few new bands I have heard lately that made me play their homonymous CD , Jetbone, more than once.

I receive copies often from bands, and I usually lack the time to review or listen to them several times, but with Jetbone it was love at first sight. I like the simple but stylish desigh of the CD, and of course I also love the music inside.

The point is that actually Jetbone does not sound originally at all, just classic rock with blues influence, classic guitar riffs, clasic lyrics… but maybe that is its charm, it feels like if this would be one of your favorite bands even from the first time you listen to them. The album already starts with 2 very catchy tunes, Dancin`On Your Grave and Baby It`s Your Time, and continues with a very high level. Actually some songs like Time by Time reminded me a lot of their Swedish fellows The Hellacopters, while in other compositions like Dead City Fire you can really feel the influence of The Rolling Stones.

I can imagine myself dancing in some small dark concert hall that smells of sweat, cigarettes, beer and in the background the music of Jetbone. If an album can inspire you those feelings, it means this is really rock & roll. And I like it! One of the surprises of 2012!

Rating 5 out of 5

Source here!

A funky rock n' roll band from Sundsvall, Sweden.